top of page

UPDATE 29/06/21: UK Removed From the List of Countries Exempt From EU Travel Restrictions!!!!

Today's Official State Gazette (BOE) publishes Order INT/677/2021, of 28 June, which amends Order INT/657/2020, of 17 July, which amends the criteria for the application of a temporary restriction on non-essential travel from third countries to the European Union and associated Schengen countries for reasons of public order and public health due to the health crisis caused by COVID-19, removing the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the list in Annex I and taking effect generally until 24.00 hours after the date of entry into force of this Decision: 00 hours on 31 July 2021, stressing that the effects of the amendment to the Annex shall take effect 72 hours after 00:00 hours on the day of its publication.

This means: Back to the previous situation where UK residents could not enter the EU without falling under one of the exceptions to the general rule:

Any person who is a national of a third country will be refused entry on grounds of public order or public health, unless they belong to one of the following categories:

  1. Regular residents of the European Union, Schengen associated States, Andorra, Monaco, the Vatican or San Marino who are going to that country, with documented proof.

  2. Holders of a long-term visa issued by a Member State or Schengen associated State, who are going to that country.

  3. Health professionals, including health researchers, and elderly care professionals going to or returning from work.

  4. Transport personnel, sailors and the aviation personnel necessary to carry out air transport activities.

  5. Diplomatic, consular, international organisation, military, civil protection and humanitarian organisation personnel, while exercising their duties.

  6. Students who are studying in the Member States or Schengen Associated States and who have the corresponding permit or visa and medical insurance, provided that they are going to the country where they are studying, and that the entry takes place during the academic year or within the 15 days prior to it.

  7. Highly qualified workers whose work is necessary and cannot be postponed or carried out at a distance, including participants in high-level sports events taking place in Spain. These circumstances must be justified by providing documentation.

  8. Persons travelling for imperative family reasons, duly accredited.

  9. Persons who provide documented proof of force majeure or a situation of need, or whose entry is permitted for humanitarian reasons.

  10. Residents in the third countries listed in the Annex provided that they come directly from one of these countries, have transited exclusively through other countries included in the list or have made only international transits at airports located in countries not listed. For residents of China, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR) and the Macao SAR, reciprocity remains to be verified.

Here you can find the updates list of countries that are exempt from EU travel restrictions:

The latest version of the order lists the following countries and special administrative regions whose residents (not citizens!) are not affected by the temporary restriction of non-essential travel to the EU across external borders:

1. Australia

2. New Zealand

3. Ruanda

4. Singapore

5. South Korea

6. Thailand

7. China

8. Hong Kong SAR

9. Macao SAR

10. Israel

11. Japan

12. Albania

13. Lebanon

14. Republic of North Macedonia

15. Taiwan

16. Serbia

17. USA

Note that this list refers to the countries that are not subject to travel restrictions. This does not mean that there are no conditions such as quarantines or obligatory testing in place.

See our other posts on this topic for more info:


bottom of page