• PinaEspinoza

UPDATE: EU Travel restrictions during MAY2021

Nowadays, one has to check a lot of regulations when planning to travel. During the world wide pandemic, every country and continent has rules in place regarding who can enter and under what conditions.

However, if you want to travel to the EU, the first thing you will be asking yourself is, can I travel from my country to a Schengen/EU country? Is my country finally on the list of countries that are not affected by EU travel restrictions anymore? Let's have a look!

A new order on travel restrictions for the EU until May 31st 2021

The Official State Gazette (BOE) has published Order INT/420/2021, of 29 April, modifying Order INT/657/2020, of 17 July, which modifies the criteria for the application of a temporary restriction on non-essential travel from third countries to the European Union and associated Schengen countries for reasons of public order and public health due to the health crisis caused by COVID-19. The Order be in effect until 24:00 hours on 31 May 2021 and it introduces a paragraph that limits the categories of people exempt from the general restriction to people coming from certain countries who have to quarantine when arriving in Spain.

UPDATE until 31.05.2021

Restrictions of Non-Essential Travel into the EU prolonged!

People who can enter regardless of their country of origin

Any person who is a national of a third country will be refused entry on grounds of public order or public health, unless they belong to one of the following categories:

  1. Regular residents of the European Union, Schengen associated States, Andorra, Monaco, the Vatican or San Marino who are going to that country, with documented proof.

  2. Holders of a long-term visa issued by a Member State or Schengen associated State, who are going to that country.

  3. Health professionals, including health researchers, and elderly care professionals going to or returning from work.

  4. Transport personnel, sailors and the aviation personnel necessary to carry out air transport activities.

  5. Diplomatic, consular, international organisation, military, civil protection and humanitarian organisation personnel, while exercising their duties.

  6. Students who are studying in the Member States or Schengen Associated States and who have the corresponding permit or visa and medical insurance, provided that they are going to the country where they are studying, and that the entry takes place during the academic year or within the 15 days prior to it.

  7. Highly qualified workers whose work is necessary and cannot be postponed or carried out at a distance, including participants in high-level sports events taking place in Spain. These circumstances must be justified by providing documentation.

  8. Persons travelling for imperative family reasons, duly accredited.

  9. Persons who provide documented proof of force majeure or a situation of need, or whose entry is permitted for humanitarian reasons.

  10. Residents in the third countries listed in the Annex provided that they come directly from one of these countries, have transited exclusively through other countries included in the list or have made only international transits at airports located in countries not listed. For residents of China, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR) and the Macao SAR, reciprocity remains to be verified.

What's new?

Quarantine for people arriving from (with or without layovers):

  • Brazil

  • South Africa

  • Botsuana

  • Union of Comoros

  • Ghana

  • Kenia

  • Mozambique

  • Tanzania

  • Zambia

  • Zimbabwe

  • Peru

  • Colombia

  • India

New Paragraph added:

In the case of persons arriving at any airport located in the Kingdom of Spain, with or without intermediate stops, on flights from airports located in third countries, who are subject to quarantine by Order of the Ministry of Health, while this order is in force, only the exceptions set out in letters d), e) and i) shall apply, except in the case of persons resident in Spain or Andorra, or Spanish citizens and their spouse or partner with whom they maintain an analogous conjugal union registered in a public register, and their dependent ascendants and descendants, provided that they are travelling with or to join them.

Thus, with the exception of EU and Spanish citizens and their family members, for people who wish to travel to Spain from one of the aforementioned countries, of the exceptions to the general travel restrictions only points 4., 5. and 9. are applicable.

The list of countries exempt from restrictions

The order contains a list of third countries (non-EU or Schengen countries) whose residents are exempt from the travel restrictions to the European Union, as well as a set of specific categories of persons also exempt from those restrictions, regardless of their place of origin. This Recommendation has been amended several times to adapt the list of third countries to the epidemiological circumstances.

The latest version of the order lists the following countries and special administrative regions whose residents (not citizens!) are not affected by the temporary restriction of non-essential travel to the EU across external borders:

1. Australia

2. New Zealand

3. Ruanda

4. Singapore

5. South Korea

6. Thailand

7. China

8. Hong Kong SAR

9. Macao SAR

Note that this list refers to the countries that are not subject to travel restrictions. This does not mean that there are no conditions such as quarantines or obligatory testing in place.

Are you planning on travelling during these difficult times? Let us know and we will gladly inform you on any restrictions or requirements you may encounter. Get in touch!

153 views0 comments